A Sussex story!

29 January 2014

The stage is set, the lights are on…the Brighton dome is electric with energy and booming with excitement. Miles away, I am sitting across the computer with sparkling eyes and a beating heart. Awaiting the live streaming to begin…awaiting my graduation ceremony to commence.

Today, 2 months into the professional world, I turn around for a peek into the student life once again. As my classmates walk across the stage, I share in their happiness, I share in their smiles and just a tiny shiver of disappointment travels through me. I envision them laughing their hearts out, breathing a sigh of relief for finally and officially crossing the bridge from being graduands to becoming graduates. ‘In absentia’ the University confers the degree upon me as well, and an audible sigh of relief escapes my lips. “Yes, I have done it!”

From being a Sussex post-graduate student, I have now quietly slipped into the Sussex alumni family. A single black gown and hat signifies so much. It brings about a transition, it signifies the end and it marks a new beginning.

Tonight with a throat that hurts from holding in tears of pride intermingled with nostalgic sobs, I would love to say that the University of Sussex gave me more than just a degree.

It gave me friends across the globe and a new family. It taught me life lessons and a whole new subject. It gave me new vision and the new perspective almost blinded me. In a good way, of course!!

But above all, it gave me one of the greatest treasures Life has to offer…

It gave me memories. For a lifetime.

Of struggling and failing. Of dusting my pants and standing straight up. Of rolling down grassy slopes for the heck of it. Of disasters in the kitchen and achievements in the seminar rooms.

Of new languages, dialects and accents.

It gave me a degree that encompasses it all, and so much more.

It added the two valuable letters after my name….the letters that made me travel across the globe just so I could puff out my chest with pride tonight and announce….

Now Presenting:

Shivani Kanetkar (M.A- Applied Linguistics)!

046

5 thoughts on “A Sussex story!”

  1. Dear Shivani, John Sander sent me a link to your blog so I hope that you won’t mind me commenting. I am so pleased that you had such a good time with us at the University of Sussex – reading your words after a long week on a Friday afternoon reminded me of why I enjoy working with international students and why studying overseas can be so transformative. Thank you for sharing your thoughts – you should rightly feel proud of your acheivements. Huge Congratulations and very best wishes
    Martin Hookham, Head of International Office, University of Sussex

    1. Hello Martin, thank you so much for your kind words. I’m glad I acted a positive reminder of why you come to work each day πŸ˜‰ Sussex will always remain special to me. I would be glad if you do give my blog the occasional read after your long working weeks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

