Reign of the rain…

24 August 2014.
Dark clouds crowded in the sky as I zipped up my hoodie, packed away my bag and folded up my jeans…ready to brace the rains.
My preparations however hadn’t anticipated the lashing rain that followed. Out on the road, I turned a corner enroute my cousin’s house when it began to pour. Not just cats and dogs but the entire menagerie…Stranded at a distance where neither my house nor his was approachable, I took refuge under a tree. Must own a raincoat that covers the entire length of the body : Reminder 1.
My stomach crammed with good food, the taste of dessert still fresh on my tongue, I zipped up my hoodie, packed away my bag and folded up my jeans. Ready to brace the dark clouds that were gathering once again in the sky. I turned a corner enroute home, when big droplets began to dot the streets. Before I had time to process anything, rain poured down. Almost washing away my gasp at suddenly being drenched yet again…Must own a raincoat that covers the entire length of the body : Reminder 2.
Seeking refuge at my aunt’s house, stretching myself to my full length just to fit into a dry pair of trackpants that belong to my 6 feet long brother, I cast an apprehensive look towards the sky. Dark clouds were crowding a third time. I settled back with a hot cup of tea in hand, almost mocking the rain. It poured and poured for over an hour against the backdrop of our conversations. The rain lashed out, we raised our own voices just to be heard. We shut the doors on the rain, it came pouring in via a clogged terrace. It was the rain that had the last laugh, eventually.
The rains quietened, and I was back to zipping up my hoodie, packing away my bag and folding up the trackpants. Muttering prayers to the cloudy sky, I turned a corner enroute home hopefully. But in vain. The rain poured down, a bucket at a time. Yet again, drenched from top to bottom. Must own a raincoat that covers the entire length of the body : Reminder 3.
Home and dry, I was about to shut the windows to keep away the water when the rain began its downpour once again. An invariable frown began to form itself on my face…’Don’t you get tired?’ I wanted to ask. Just then, a raindrop hit the windowpane and sprayed water on my face. The gentle touch was refreshing, the cool breeze now blowing was literally a breath of fresh air. All day long, I had fought with the rains, trying to win a game of hide-and-seek, dodging the downpour. All day long, I had failed.
As the day reaches its end, I am worn out with this battle. I have been the losing party anyway. I tried to frown and hate the rains, but lost out against a smile even then…
It’s the reign of the rain. You just need to bow down and be drenched. In the generosity, in the naiveness and just simply, in the incessant rain…

image

Leave a Reply

